Aberdeen Early Music Collective

The Aberdeen Early Music Collective is a flexible ensemble, formed with musicians from Aberdeen, Basel, Glasgow, London, Manchester, and Montréal. We perform on historical instruments, and invite established as well as up-and-coming musicians to join us in performances of repertoire ranging from the 15th century to the 18th century. We frequently collaborate with scholars to showcase the fruits of recent researches in musicology, such as new editions or performance practice insights.

Regulars include: Frauke Jürgensen, soprano/dance; Amanda Babington, violin/recorder; David Smith, recorder/keyboard; Caroline Ritchie, viola da gamba/cello; Claire Babington, cello; Ralph Stelzenmüller, keyboard. Recent guests have included: Grant Golding, natural trumpet, Karim Nasr, historical woodwinds; Jamie Akers, theorbo; and Alex McCartney, guitar/theorbo.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s